In which Midsummer Dreams is out today and there is much dream-related blogging going on

*clears throat*

Ladies and gentlemen I have a small announcement. Today is e-publication day for my fourth Choc Lit book, Midsummer Dreams – it’s my second 21st Century Bard novel. Here comes the blurby bit:

Four people. Four messy lives. One party that changes everything …
Emily is obsessed with ending her father’s new relationship – but is blind to the fact that her own is far from perfect.
Dominic has spent so long making other people happy that he’s hardly noticed he’s not happy himself.
Helen has loved the same man, unrequitedly, for ten years. Now she may have to face up to the fact that he will never be hers.
Alex has always played the field. But when he finally meets a girl he wants to commit to, she is just out of his reach.
At a midsummer wedding party, the bonds that tie the four friends together begin to unravel and show them that, sometimes, the sensible choice is not always the right one.

Midsummer Dreams

And in celebration of Midsummer Dreams’ first day out there in the wild on people’s kindles, I have begged, cajoled, and blackmailed a whole host of fabulous writers into joining me in what I’m enthusiastically terming a Blog Splurge. It probably ought to have a more official sounding name than that like a Blog Roll or a Blogathon, but splurge is such a pleasing word to say – I’m generally very fond of a word with a ‘pl’ sound in it ‘plonk’, ‘plinth’, ‘pleasure’ – and so that’s what I’m calling it.

The idea is simple. I gave all the lovely participants three prompts to get them thinking about dreams and nightmares, and over the course of the day (or next couple of days) they’ll be sharing their own thoughts on their own sites, for your reading and commenting pleasure, and to join me in virtually celebrating release day.

So here are my dream and nightmare related musings to get the ball rolling…

I had a dream… last night about Matthew Macfadyen. Specifically about Matthew Macfadyen as Mr Darcy in the 2005 film of Pride and Prejudice, which was unsurprising in many ways because I’d just watched the film, but also a bit weird, because I really don’t like Jane Austen. Sorry. I know I’m supposed to being a romantic novelist and all, but she just doesn’t float my boat. Matthew Macfadyen in breeches though makes for very happy dreams indeed.

I had a nightmare… Actually I don’t have nightmares very often. When I do they’re generally of the classic ‘being chased’ or ‘falling’ variety. I used to have nightmares much more often – when I was younger I refused to watch any sort of thriller or crime drama because it would give me bad dreams. If I accidentally caught the start of an episode of Crimewatch I had to stay right to the end so Nick Ross could tell me that serious crime was still very rare and not to have nightmares. Weirdly, that did seem to work – Nick Ross clearly had a very trustworthy face.

My dream for the future… is obviously mainly that we will all wear silver onesies and own flying cars and hoverboards. My second dream for the future is all the important world peace and an end to poverty and disease stuff. My final, and if I’m honest currently most pressing, dream for the future is that lots of people – certainly more than seven – will buy the shiny new book. That would be awesome indeed.

And if you enjoyed those thoughts about dreams (and even if you didn’t) here’s two fab things you can do next.

You can hop over to Amazon and get your own copy of Midsummer Dreams.

And then you can take a look at some of the other fantastic dream related blogging that’s going on today. Below (in no particular order) are the people involved. And you can get involved too – contact me on facebook or tweet me @MsAlisonMay with your dreams and nightmares and look out for #MidsummerDreams on twitter for links to all the blogs as they go live.

Jane Lovering http://www.janelovering.co.uk/2015/06/midsummer-dreamsalison-mays-launch-and.html

Rhoda Baxter http://rhodabaxter.com/?p=3102

Sheryl Browne http://sherylbrowne.com/2015/06/12/755/

Laura James http://www.lauraejames.co.uk/?p=2958

Lisa Hill https://lisahillwriter.wordpress.com/2015/06/12/we-are-such-stuff-as-dreams-are-made-on/

Sally Malcolm http://sallymalcolm.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/daydreaming.html

Chris Stovell http://homethoughtsweekly.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/waiting-games-and-midsummer-dreams.html

Clare Chase http://clarechase.com/2015/06/12/midsummer-dreams-and-am-dram-nightmares/

Janet Gover http://janetgover.com/?p=6010

Morton Gray http://mortongray.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/spotlight-on-alison-may-midsummer-dreams.html

Henriette Gyland https://henriettegyland.wordpress.com/2015/06/12/midsummer-dreams/

Ann Evans http://annsawriter.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/congratulations-to-alison-may-on-e.html

Christina Hollis http://christinahollis.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/midsummer-dreams.html

Kathryn Freeman http://kathrynfreeman.co.uk/i-had-a-dream/

Bernadette O’Dwyer http://secretwriter1.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/midsummerdreams.html

Julia Ibbotson http://juliaibbotsonauthor.com/2015/06/12/midsummer-dreams/

Anne Stenhouse https://annestenhousenovelist.wordpress.com/2015/06/12/dreaming/

Janice Preston http://janicepreston.co.uk/2015/06/12/midsummer-dreams-and-nightmares/

Linn B Halton http://linnbhalton.co.uk/psychic-nightmares-and-midsummerdreams/

Helena Fairfax http://helenafairfax.com/2015/06/12/a-fresh-take-on-a-midsummer-nights-dream-midsummerdreams/

Heather King http://regencywriter-hking.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/midsummer-dreaming.html

Sally Jenkins https://sallyjenkins.wordpress.com/2015/06/12/midsummer-dreams/

Holly Magill https://hollyannegetspoetic.wordpress.com/2015/06/11/midsummer-dreams-by-alison-may-and-a-bit-from-me-on-dreamy-stuff/

Kate Haye http://katyhaye.com/2015/06/12/midsummer-dreams/

Kirsty Ferry https://rosethornramblings.wordpress.com/2015/06/12/midsummer-dreams/

Evonne Wareham http://evonneonwednesday.blogspot.co.uk/ (Wednesday)

Author: Alison May

Writer. Creative writing teacher. Freelance trainer in the voluntary sector. Anything to avoid getting a real job... Aiming to have one of the most eclectic blogs around, because being interested in just one thing suggests a serious breakdown in curiousity.

3 thoughts on “In which Midsummer Dreams is out today and there is much dream-related blogging going on”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.